

Issued: 2 February 2009

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

Public hearing: Inquiry into the 2007 election

Chair: Daryl Melham Deputy Chair: Scott Morrison

Telephone: 02 6277 2374

Facsimile: 02 6277 4710

Email: jscem@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/em

Federal director of the Nationals to appear before parliamentary committee

The federal director of the Nationals, Brad Henderson, will appear before parliament's Electoral Matters Committee at a public hearing tomorrow, Tuesday 3 February 2009.

The hearing is part of the committee's inquiry into the 2007 Federal election.

"Political parties are key stakeholders in the electoral system and it is important to get their feedback on the conduct of the 2007 election and proposals for electoral reform," committee chair Daryl Melham (Member for Banks, NSW) said.

The Nationals' submission to the committee raises a number of issues arising from the 2007 federal election including enrolment notification, proof of identification, harmonisation of voting systems and the conduct of postal voting.

"The committee will be keen to examine some of the improvements suggested by the Nationals and other political parties at the public hearing on these and other issues including the conduct of pre-poll voting, the format of gazetted postal voting application forms and the counting of votes in close seats," Mr Melham said.

The public hearing will be held in Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra, from 12.45pm to 1.45pm. The hearing will be broadcast on the House Monitoring Service (HMS10) and webcast live on the Parliament House website at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/.

Please note that the committee will be conducting a private meeting prior to the commencement of the public hearing. The public will be admitted at the conclusion of the private meeting.

For media comment: please contact the Committee Chair, Daryl Melham, on (02) 6277 2054 (Parliament House Office).

Further information: contact the Inquiry Secretary (02) 6277 2374, email iscem@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's webpage at http://www.aph.gov.au/em