HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Standing Committee on Family, Community, Housing and Youth

MEDIA ALERT
Issued: 18 June 2009

Chair: Annette Ellis MP Deputy Chair: Hon Judi Moylan MP

New parliamentary inquiry into the principles and service standards for new homelessness legislation

The Families Committee has agreed to an inquiry into the principles and service standards for new homelessness legislation announced Committee Chair Annette Ellis.

"This is an excellent opportunity for people and interested organisations to comment on what should be included in new homelessness legislation. The *Supported Accommodation Assistance Act 1994* sets out principles that have guided government responses to homelessness since 1995. The 2008 white paper on homelessness by the current government, *The Road Home,* noted, however, that the legislation should be strengthened. The Committee will consult widely in order to advise government of the principles and service standards that should be included in such new legislation."

The Committee will specifically examine:

- 1. the principles that should underpin the provision of services to Australians who are homeless or at risk of homelessness;
- 2. the scope of any legislation with respect to related government initiatives in the areas of social inclusion and rights;
- 3. the role of legislation in improving the quality of services for people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness;
- 4. the effectiveness of existing legislation and regulations governing homelessness services in Australia and overseas; and
- 5. the applicability of existing legislative and regulatory models used in other community service systems, such as disability services, aged care and child care, to the homelessness sector.

The Committee encourages all interested parties to participate in the inquiry. **Submissions should be forwarded to the Committee by 14 August.** The Committee anticipates reporting by December 2009.

Further details are provided on the Committee website: www.aph.gov.au/fchy.

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Annette Ellis, on (02) 6293 1344 (electorate office).

For all other inquiries please contact the Inquiry Secretary by phone on (02) 6277 4566 or by email fchy.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's website: www.aph.gov.au/fchy

Telephone: 02 6277 4566
Facsimile: 02 6277 4844
E-mail: fchy.reps@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/fchy

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600