Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

Inquiry into meteorological forecasting Public hearing in Melbourne

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct a public hearing for its inquiry into long-term meteorological forecasting in Australia, on **Monday 29 June** in Melbourne.

Appearing at the public hearing will be climate and forecasting researchers, Professor Neville Nicholls (who has been undertaking scientific research into the nature, causes, impacts and predictability of climate variations and change since 1972) and Professor Christian Jakob (a researcher for more than 15 years in the development of weather and climate prediction models). Professor Nicholls will also be representing the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society and Cumulus Consulting.

Also appearing at the hearing will be the CSIRO Staff Association (a section of the CPSU), and several individuals and organisations with an interest in weather, climate and forecasting.

The inquiry into long-term meteorological forecasting is examining the efficacy of current climate modelling methods and techniques and long-term meteorological prediction systems and the impact of accurate measurement of inter-seasonal climate variability on decision-making processes for sectors such as agricultural production

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM
Monday 29 June 2009 – 9.00am to 3.00pm
Committee Room No. 2
55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne

9.00am-10.00am Professor Neville Nicholls (subs. 12, 11 &13)

Professor Christian Jakob (sub. 22)

9.45am-10.30am Institute for Private Enterprises (sub. 2)

10.45am-11.30am Foreseechange Pty Ltd (sub. 23)

11.30am-12.15pm Mr Tom Quirk (sub. 1)

1.15pm-2.00pm Mr John McLean (sub. 32)

2.00pm-2.45pm CSIRO Staff Association / CPSU (subs. 9 & 3)

Further details, including the full terms of reference, membership of the committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the committee's website at www.aph.gov.au/isi.

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair, Ms Maria Vamvakinou, on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or isi.reps@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 4594
Facsimile: 02 6277 4516
E-mail: isi.reps@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/isi

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600