



Chair: The Hon Geoff Prosser MP Deputy Chair: Mr Michael Hatton MP

## Renewable energy in Australia

## Inquiry into developing Australia's non-fossil fuel energy industry

The House of Representatives Industry and Resources Committee will continue its inquiry into the development of Australia's non-fossil fuel energy industry with a new case study into selected renewable energy sources.

Having completed a case study into the strategic importance of Australia's uranium resources, the Committee will now commence a comparative study of the following renewable energy sectors: solar, wave, tidal, geothermal, wind and hydrogen. The case study will examine the relative state of development of these sectors in Australia and their prospects for economically viable electricity generation, storage and transmission.

Launching the case study, the House Industry and Resources Committee Chairman, Geoff Prosser, said that "renewable energy sources have the potential to significantly reduce the greenhouse gas emissions associated with energy production and use in Australia. However, the state of development of renewable energy sectors varies considerably and, in the case of solar and wind, are impeded by intermittency and challenged by the difficulty of storing the electricity generated."

"The Committee will examine the current state of play among the renewable electricity-generating and energy-storage technologies in Australia, and determine what the prospects are for economically viable electricity generation, storage and transmission for each sector," Mr Prosser said.

The inquiry was referred to the Committee by the Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources Ian Macfarlane.

Interested organisations, companies and individuals are invited to make written submissions addressing the terms of reference by **Friday, 15 June 2007**.

Advice on preparing a submission can be obtained from the Committee's web site <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/isr/index.htm">http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/isr/index.htm</a> or from the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4594. Further information relating to the inquiry will be placed on the Committee's web site as the inquiry progresses.

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chairman, the Hon Geoff Prosser MP, on: (08) 9791 1146 (Electorate Office in Bunbury, WA) or (02) 6277 2055 (Parliament House)

For further information, please contact the Inquiry Secretary on: (02) 6277 4594 or via email at ir.reps@aph.gov.au

Telephone: 02 6277 4594
Facsimile: 02 6277 4516
E-mail: ir.reps@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/isr

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600