TI 2 March ou

Submission No:..

----Original Message-----

From: Wood, Brett [mailto:Brett.Wood@industry.gov.au]

Sent: Thursday, 8 April 2004 1:51 PM

To: Morris, Julia (REPS)

Cc: Riethmuller, Jeff; Cockinos, Alex

Subject: JSCOT Public Hearing 8 March 2004 - World Tourism Organization QoN

Importance: High

Julia

I have attached the responses prepared by the Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources to the questions on the World Tourism Organisation treaty raised during the JSCOT public hearing on 8 March 2004.

<<Questions on Notice - ITR Responses.doc>>

I apologise for the delay in providing this information to the Committee, however it has taken some time to gather the material required.

Please contact me if you require any further information.

Regards

Brett

Brett Wood A/g International Team Leader Tourism Division

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Level 1, 33 Allara Street, Canberra City ACT 2601

GPO Box 9839, Canberra ACT 2601 Ph: 61-2-6213 7037 Fax: 61-2-6213 7093

Email: <u>brett.wood@industry.gov.au</u>
<u>Internet: http://www.industry.gov.au</u>

ABN 51 835 430 479

The information contained in this e-mail, and any attachments to it, is

intended for the use of the addressee and is confidential. If you are not the intended recipient you must not use, disclose, read, forward, copy or retain any of the information. If you have received this e-mail in

error, please delete it and notify the sender by return e-mail or telephone.

The Commonwealth does not warrant that any attachments are free from viruses or any other defects. You assume all liability for any loss, damage or other consequences which may arise from opening or using the attachments.

19/04/2004

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES 8th MARCH 2004

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

WORLD TOURISM ORGANIZATION STATUTES (MEXICO CITY 27 SEPTEMBER 1970)

DR SOUTHCOTT (CHAIR) asked Mr Riethmuller if there have been any members of the World Tourism Organization (WTO) that at some time in the past have withdrawn, as Australia did? (TR 9, Proof Committee Hansard)

Response: Finland withdrew from the WTO in 2001, due to a restructure of the Government's approach to tourism.

The United States of America (USA) withdrew from the WTO in 1996, predominantly due to the closing of the United States Travel and Tourism Administration, which at the time, was the agency responsible for tourism promotion in the USA. The USA is currently considering rejoining the WTO.

The Bahamas, Grenada, and Trinidad and Tobago withdrew on economic grounds. The Caribbean Tourism Organization liaises with the WTO on behalf of the islands.

The United Arab Emirates withdrew in the 1980s for economic reasons.

MR WILKIE asked Mr Riethmuller how the executive of the WTO worked and how often it met?

Response: The executive of the WTO is structured as follows:

Executive Council

The Executive Council is the WTO's governing board. It meets twice a year and has 27 Members who are elected by the General Assembly in a ratio of one for every five Full Members (in accordance with the WTO's Rules of Procedure to ensure fair and equitable geographical distribution).

The Council elects one Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen from among its Members. The term of office of Members elected to the Council is four years and elections for one-half of the Council membership are held every two years. Spain is a Permanent Member of the Executive Council. Representatives of the Associate Members and Affiliate Members participate in Executive Council meetings as observers.

A full list of the Executive Council and WTO membership categories is at **Attachment A**.

Secretariat

The Secretariat is led by the Secretary-General, who supervises about 90 full-time staff at WTO's Madrid Headquarters. The Secretary-General is responsible for

implementing the WTO's work programme and serving the needs of members. The term of the Secretary-General is four years.

The WTO also convenes several other high level meetings and committees that input into the direction of the Organization.

General Assembly

The General Assembly is the principal gathering of the WTO. The Assembly, which meets every two years, comprises Full Members and Associate Members. Affiliate Members and representatives of other international organizations participate as observers.

Regional Commissions

Established in 1975 as subsidiary organs of the General Assembly, the six Regional Commissions - Africa, the Americas, East Asia and the Pacific, Europe, the Middle East and South Asia - meet once a year. Membership comprises all Full Members and Associate Members from that region, while Affiliate Members from the region participate as observers.

Each Commission elects one Chairman and its Vice-Chairmen from among its Members for a term of two years commencing from one session to the next session of the General Assembly.

Committees

Specialised committees of WTO Members advise on management and programme content. These include the:

- WTO Education Council
- WTO Business Council
- World Committee on Tourism Ethics
- Programme Committee
- Budget and Finance Committee
- Statistics and Macroeconomic Analysis of Tourism Committee
- Market Intelligence and Promotion Committee
- Sustainable Development of Tourism Committee
- Quality Support Committee

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Officers for 2004

Chairman: Russian Federation Vice-Chairmen: Jordan and Nigeria

Members

Andorra (2005)

Botswana (2007)

Brazil (2005)

Bulgaria (2007)

Cameroon (2005)

Croatia (2007)

Cyprus (2005)

Jordan (2005)

Mali (2007)

Mexico (2005)

Morocco (2005)

Nigeria (2007)

Pakistan (2005)

Dominican Republic (2005) Philippines (2007)

Ecuador (2005) Republic of Korea (2007) Eritrea (2005) Russian Federation (2005) France (2005) Senegal (2007)

India (2005) Seychelles (2007)

Indonesia (2007) Spain (Permanent Member) Italy (2007) Tunisia (2007)

Tunisia (2007) Turkey (2007)

Representative of the Associate Members:

Macao, China (2005)

Representative of the Affiliate Members:

Tourisme Montréal (2005)

Note: Year in which term of office expires shown in brackets.

WTO MEMBERSHIP CATEGORIES

The WTO has three categories of membership: Full Members, Associate Members and Affiliate Members.

- Full membership is open to all sovereign States.
- Associate Membership is open to all territories not responsible for their external relations. Membership requires the prior approval of the government which assumes responsibility for their external relations.
- Affiliate Membership comprises a wide range of organizations and companies
 working directly in travel, tourism and related sectors. These may include: airlines
 and other transport, hotels and restaurants, tour operators and travel agents,
 banking institutions, insurance companies, travel assistance, and publishing
 groups.