

# **Appendix B: Public Hearings**

## Monday, 4 July 2005 - Canberra<sup>1</sup>

Attorney General's Department

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary, Family Law Branch
Ms Sue Pidgeon, Assistant Secretary, Family Pathways Branch
Ms Alison Playford, Principal Legal Officer, Family Law Branch
Ms Susan Noad, Acting Senior Legal Officer, Family Law Branch
Ms Michelle Warner, Senior Legal Officer, Family Pathways Branch

### Wednesday 20 July 2005, Melbourne

Family Law Section, Law Council of Australia

Mr Ian Kennedy AM, Chair, Family Law Section

Mr Martin Bartfeld QC, Immediate past Chair, Family Law Section.

Professor Lawrence Moloney, Representative, Children in Focus, School of Public Health, La Trobe University

Victorian Aboriginal Legal Service Cooperative and the Elizabeth Hoffman House Aboriginal Women's Services Inc

This meeting was originally a private briefing for the Committee on the details of the exposure draft. The Committee subsequently resolved to make the transcript publicly available.

Mr Robin Inglis, Research Officer, VALSC

Ms Greta Jubb, Research Officer, VALSC

Ms Rose Solomon, Chief Executive Officer, Elizabeth Hoffman House

Ms Eva Hudson, Outreach Worker, Elizabeth Hoffman House.

National Council of Single Mothers and their Children and the National Abuse Free Contact Campaign

Dr Elspeth McInnes, Convenor, NCSMTC

Ms Marie Hume, Representative, NAFCC

Australian Children's Contact Services Association

Ms Barbara Hanson, Convenor

## Thursday 21 July 2005, Sydney

Law Society of New South Wales

Dr Tom Altobelli, Member, Family Issues Committee

Ms Maryanne Plastiras, Responsible Legal Officer, Family Issues Committee

#### Relationships Australia

Ms Mary Mertin-Ryan, National Director

Ms Anne Hollonds, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Tony Gee, Family and Child Mediator

National Network of Indigenous Women's Legal Service

Ms Denese Griffin, Coordinator

Ms Cleonie Quayle, Member

National Association of Community Legal Centres and the National Network of Women's Legal Services

Ms Joanna Fletcher, Law Reform Coordinator

Ms Katrina Finn, Policy Officer

#### Ms Suzanne Dowey

#### Women's Legal Service (NSW) and the Indigenous Women's Program

Ms Karen Mifsud, Supervising Solicitor, Domestic Violence Advocacy Service

Ms Dianne Hamey, Supervising Solicitor

Ms Rene Adams, Coordinator, Indigenous Women's Program Unit

Ms Jennifer Wong, Supervising Solicitor, Walgett Violence Prevention Unit

### Monday 25 July 2005, Canberra

#### Catholic Welfare Australia

Mr Frank Quinlan, Executive Director

Mrs Margaret Roots, Director, Membership and Network Support

#### Family Law Practitioners Association of Queensland Inc

Mr Donald Leembruggen, Member

#### **Shared Parenting Council of Australia**

Mr Michael Green QC, President

Mr Geoffrey Greene, Founder and immediate past President

Mr Wayne Butler, Executive Secretary

#### Lone Fathers Association of Australia Inc

Mr Barry Williams, National President and Founder

Mr James Carter, Adviser

#### Family Services Australia

Mrs Sarah Lees, National Manager

Ms Jennifer Hannan, Vice President

Mr Tony O'Hare, Treasurer

#### **Family Law Council**

Mrs Nicola Davies, Member

# Tuesday 26 July 2005, Canberra

#### **Family Court of Australia**

Chief Justice Diana Bryant

Justice Stephen O'Ryan, Judge

Hon Richard Chisholm, Honorary consultant and retired Judge

#### **Dads in Distress**

Mr Tony Miller, Founder and Director

#### Attorney-General's Department

Mr Kym Duggan, Assistant Secretary, Family Law Branch
Ms Sue Pidgeon, Assistant Secretary, Family Pathways Branch
Ms Susan Noad, Acting Senior Legal Officer, Family Law Branch
Ms Michelle Warner, Senior Legal Officer, Family Pathways Branch
Mr David Syme, Family Relationships Centres Development Section