# THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA 1972—Parliamentary Paper No. 282

# REPORT FROM THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES SELECT COMMITTEE ON ROAD SAFETY

(Being a report that the Committee has been unable to complete its Inquiry)

Brought up and ordered to be printed 26 October 1972

COMMONWEALTH GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE CANBERRA: 1973

### Personnel of the Committee

Mr E. M. C. Fox, C.B.E., M.P. (Chairman)

Mr S. E. Calder, D.F.C., M.P.

Mr B. Cohen, M.P.

Dr D. N. Everingham, M.P.

Mr D. J. Hamer, D.S.C., M.P.

Mr C. K. Jones, M.P.

Dr R. J. Solomon, M.P.

Clerk to the Committee: Mr R. J. Beggs

# REPORT FROM THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES SELECT COMMITTEE ON ROAD SAFETY

- 1. On 27 April 1972, the Committee was appointed by resolution of the House of Representatives to inquire into and report on:
  - (a) the main causes of the present high level of the road toll in Australia;
  - (b) the most effective means of achieving greater road safety in Australia;
  - (c) the particular aspects of the problem to which those concerned with road safety could most advantageously direct their efforts; and
  - (d) the economic cost to the community of road accidents in Australia in terms of—
    - (i) material damage;
    - (ii) loss of man hours and earning capacity; and
    - (iii) cost of treatment of accident victims.
- 2. The Committee held its first meeting on 16 May 1972, and since then has met on eleven occasions, ten of which were for public hearings. The Committee has heard evidence from thirty-seven witnesses, taken almost 1,600 pages of evidence, and received many exhibits. Around one hundred and twenty submissions have been received and approximately forty individuals and organisations have indicated that they wish to present written evidence to the Committee.
- 3. In view of the volume of evidence already received by the Committee and in the knowledge that a great deal more will be received, the Committee will be unable to complete its Inquiry prior to the dissolution of the House of Representatives.
- 4. Information so far received by the Committee indicates that the problem of road accidents is a very complex one, demanding an extensive, probing inquiry before any considered recommendations can be made.
- 5. It is recommended that the Committee be reconstituted in the new Parliament. It is further recommended that the new Parliament give its new Committee power to consider and make use of the records of the present Committee in order to carry forward and ultimately to report on the work carried out during the present session.

E. M. C. Fox Chairman

October 1972

V

## LIST OF WITNESSES

LIDE OF VIETNESSES	
ATIYAH, Professor P. S.	Professor of Law, Australian National University, Australian Capital Territory.
BESLEY, Mr B. K.	Federal President, Australian Optometrical Association, Victoria.
BLUNDEN, Professor W. R.	Professor of Traffic Engineering, The University of New South Wales.
Bush, Dr J. P.	Medical Practitioner, Victoria.
Cole, Dr B. L.	Director and Head of School, Victorian College of Optometry.
Cosgrove, Mr K. J.	First Assistant Secretary, Land Transport Policy Division, Department of Shipping and Transport, Australian Capital Territory.
Crowe, Mr L. I.	Director, Traffic Section, Commercial and Transport Operations Branch, Department of the Interior, Australian Capital Territory.
CUMMING, Professor R. W.	Chartered Engineer and Professor of Psychology, Monash University, Victoria.
DARKE, Mr B. C.	Assistant Secretary, Transport and Traffic Policy Branch, Department of the Interior, Australian Capital Territory.
DE NEEFE, Mr F. X.	President, Traffic Control Equipment Manufacturers Association of Australia, Victoria.
Duncan, Mr J. A.	Assistant Director (Projects), Traffic Section, Commercial and Transport Operations Branch, Department of the Interior, Australian Capital Territory.
Eyles, Mr D. R.	Transportation Engineer, National Capital Development Commission, Australian Capital Territory.
FOLDVARY, Dr L. A.	Consultant Statistician, Economist and Engineer, Victoria.
FISHER, Mr A. J.	Senior Project Scientist, School of Traffic Engineering, The University of New South Wales.
Guerin, Mr N. S.	Representative, The Institution of Engineers, Australia, Victoria Division.
HALL, Mr R. R.	Professional Officer, School of Traffic Engineering, The University of New South Wales.
HARPER, Mr B. C. S.	Representative, The Institution of Engineers, Australia, Victoria Division.
Hastings, Mr C.	Representative, The Institution of Engineers, Australia, Victoria Division.
Henderson, Dr J. M.	Executive Director of Traffic Safety, Traffic Accident Research Unit, New South Wales Department of Motor Transport.
Howard, Professor C.	Hearn Professor of Law, University of Melbourne.
KLEIN, Professor D.	Professor of Social Science and Human Develop- ment, Michigan State University, United States of America.
LACKEY, Mr A. C.	Representative, the Council of Fire and Accident Underwriters Association of Australia, Victoria.
Leslie, Mr W. I.	Representative, The Institution of Engineers, Australia, Victoria Division.

Lynagh, Mr N.	Director, Transport Planning Branch, Northern Territory Administration.
McConaghy, Inspector P. D.	Officer in Charge, Traffic Division, Australian Capital Territory Police.
Marshall, Mr J. H.	Assistant Secretary, Commercial and Transport Operations Branch, Department of the Interior, Australian Capital Territory.
MILNER, Professor C. J.	Professor of Applied Physics, The University of New South Wales.
MOREHEAD, Mr T.	Assistant Secretary, Road Transport Branch, Land Transport Policy Division, Department of Shipping and Transport, Australian Capital Territory.
Morris, Mr E. L.	Public Relations Officer, The Council of Fire and Accident Underwriters Association of Australia, Victoria.
NADER, Mr R.	Attorney and Consumer Representative, Washington, D.C., United States of America.
PACY, Dr H.	Honorary Director, Coweambah Clinic, New South Wales.
SCHRADER, Mr R. R.	Director of Public Relations and Chairman of Publicity Advisory Committee on Education in Road Safety, Department of Shipping and Transport, Australian Capital Territory.
TURNER, Mr H. J. A.	Senior Lecturer, School of Traffic Engineering, The University of New South Wales.
Van Lier, Mr G. H.	Driving Instructor, Australian Capital Territory.
Watson, Mr M. J.	Federal Director, Australian Optometrical Association, Victoria.
WHERRETT, Mr P. B.	Director, Peter Wherrett Advanced Driving Pty Ltd, New South Wales.
YELLAND, Mr R. L.	President, Victorian Motorists' Safe-Driving Association.

