

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORT AND REGIONAL SERVICES

> Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: 02 6277 2352 Fax: 02 6277 4424 E-mail: Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au Web site: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/trs ABN no 18526287740

INQUIRY INTO PRIVATISATION OF REGIONAL INFRASTRUCTURE AND GOVERNMENT BUSINESS ENTERPRISES

Terms of Reference

The committee is inquiring into the impact of privatisation of regional infrastructure and government business enterprises on the achievement of the outcomes reported in the 2001 -2002 annual report of the Department of Transport and Regional Services – namely:

- Transport systems which are safe, more efficient, internationally competitive, sustainable and accessible; and
- Regional communities which have better access to opportunities and services and which are able to take the lead in their own planning and development.

In this context the committee will consider the economic and social impact of the privatisation of infrastructure and government business enterprises in rural and regional Australia, including the benefits and disadvantages of privatisation in the rail, road, aviation, ports, power, and industrial manufacturing sectors. The committee will also consider:

- Policies, measures and other factors that would assist developing world class infrastructure.
- The role of the three levels of government and the private sector in providing regional infrastructure.
- Mechanisms for monitoring, evaluating and reporting on government privatisation programs.

Submissions can be e-mailed to Trs.Reps@aph.gov.au

Or sent to: Transport and Regional Services Committee House of Representatives Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600

The closing date for submissions is Friday, 14 November 2003

Committee's internet site at is at: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/house_privatisation</u>

Membership of the Committee

Chair Deputy Chair	Mr Paul Neville MP Mr Steve Gibbons MP	
Members	Mr Peter Andren MP	Mr Frank Mossfield MP
	Mr Barry Haase MP	Ms Michelle O'Byrne MP
	Mrs Sussan Ley MP	Mr Alby Schultz MP
	Mr Stewart McArthur MP	Mr Patrick Secker MP